A First Time for Everything

IMG_1690

I’ve lived in Singapore for years, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a proper sit-down Teochew dinner. Shame on me, I know. But places like this are good for sharing, and I don’t usually hang out in big groups.

A friend of mine invited me to have dinner at Quan Le Yuan Seafood restaurant on Havelock Road.

Of course I got lost on the way to the restaurant, even if I was walking along the rows of food places and it was literally in front of my nose.

My friend ordered in excellent Mandarin. He said they don’t have a menu at these places. And it’s rare that someone speaks English (He might be wrong?). I told him that if I come back without him, I’ll make sure to show the photos of the food we ate. Haha. And order Coke by saying Koh-lah.

Above photo is duck. I loved that. Loved, loved it. Could have eaten the entire thing by myself. But then again, I have always been a big fan of duck, especially the crispy, fried duck in Indonesia. and the French duck confit.

IMG_1692

This is oyster omelet. The oyster is not incorporated into the egg part but separate. I liked this too.

IMG_1696

Some sort of fried shrimp roll. Wasn’t a big fan of this. Twas okay.

I didn’t take photos of our veggies – kailan and something else that was a bit spicy.

IMG_1695

The spectacular pomfret in some kind of broth. Dun dun dun! Deboned nicely, except for a few here and there. It did not have strong spices, very subtle, but that’s when you appreciate how fresh the fish is.

IMG_1698

Sizzling tofu with mushroom and pork and carrot and whatever. I used to detest tofu. Detest it. But I am finding out that I quite like tofu done Chinese-style. And I tried tofu with cheese at a Chinese New Year party and even if that was just from a package, I liked it.

It was a good dinner. We had two bottles of wine. My friend likes his wine. And when we went back to their flat we opened another bottle of sweet dessert wine from California.

All in all, a good night.

This entry was posted in food, personal, restaurant review, singapore and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

